+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Approved study permit, but found a mistake on IMM 1294 form

Jenna007

Apr 14, 2019
Hello guys.

I am an international student who has just received approval on my study permit application.
When I signed in with my GCKey account, I found that an eTA was issued along with my study permit.

However, I noticed that I made a mistake when I filled out the IMM 1294 form.
On page 4 - background information, question 2c asked: Have you previously applied to enter or remain in Canada?

I misunderstood that the question asked about any illegal or unauthorized attempts to enter or remain in Canada because question 2a and 2b was about the illegal attempt and refusal. So I totally misjudged the real meaning of the question 2c and clicked 'No.'
I should have chosen 'Yes' because I have visited Canada several times and I have already had the eTA.

However, on the IMM 5257 form, which was also mandatory for the study permit application, I reported all my visits to Canada (all for sightseeing) in the previous travel section. So I believe this will not be a problem.

I'm really worried if I have any problem when I arrive in Canada.
What should I do? Should I contact the IRCC and explain the situation?
I'm not sure if it is possible to change the uploaded document to the amended one.
Is there anybody made a similar problem with mine?
Please help me! Thank you.

canuck_in_uk

VIP Member
May 4, 2012
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
06/12
Hello guys.

I am an international student who has just received approval on my study permit application.
When I signed in with my GCKey account, I found that an eTA was issued along with my study permit.

On page 4 - background information, question 2c asked: Have you previously applied to enter or remain in Canada?