+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

applying for PR card with expired passport

KhaledAR1994

Feb 5, 2021
Hey everybody. I’ve been a permanent resident since September 2021 (however, I did not receive a card due to an error in their system, and i only found this out after emailing my MP 3 months ago) and my Saudi passport has expired in July 2022 (I have been in Canada the whole time) - I intended to travel out of Canada this winter so I will indeed be renewing the passport as well. Will I run into any issues applying for a PR card with an expired passport? (it was the passport I had when I got my CoPR).

Ponga

VIP Member
Oct 22, 2013
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hey everybody. I’ve been a permanent resident since September 2021 (however, I did not receive a card due to an error in their system, and i only found this out after emailing my MP 3 months ago) and my Saudi passport has expired in July 2022 (I have been in Canada the whole time) - I intended to travel out of Canada this winter so I will indeed be renewing the passport as well. Will I run into any issues applying for a PR card with an expired passport? (it was the passport I had when I got my CoPR).
No. For the new PR Card application, you can use the passport that you had when you landed, even if expired.

https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/application/application-forms-guides/guide-5445-applying-permanent-resident-card-card-first-application-replacement-renewal-change-gender-identifier.html

You must submit these documents:

• Fees: Copy of the receipt showing the amount paid.
  • Photos
    • You will need two (2) identical photos taken within twelve (12) months of the date of this application:
      • put the two (2) photos in a small envelope (no staples or paper clips), and
      • write the name of the applicant on the envelope.