+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Applying for open work permit from study permit

adamzakayev

Dec 5, 2016
Seeking a lawyer who can advise and complete an application for open work permit. I am currently a 2nd year International student at Memorial University, NL. My sponsor (father)had stroke 4 months ago leaving him paralyzed and unable to support the finance any longer. I have been living with my fiance who is also an international student for 3 years now which according to NL law is considered common-law relationship. Can I under any category apply for open work permit as I won't be able to afford my next semester in 2019. Thank yoh

canuck_in_uk

VIP Member
May 4, 2012
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
06/12
Seeking a lawyer who can advise and complete an application for open work permit. I am currently a 2nd year International student at Memorial University, NL. My sponsor (father)had stroke 4 months ago leaving him paralyzed and unable to support the finance any longer. I have been living with my fiance who is also an international student for 3 years now which according to NL law is considered common-law relationship. Can I under any category apply for open work permit as I won't be able to afford my next semester in 2019. Thank yoh
You don't need a lawyer. It is a simple process to apply to change your status to worker.

https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/application/application-forms-guides/application-change-conditions-extend-your-stay-canada-worker.html

adamzakayev

Dec 5, 2016
Thank you !

I did follow up on that link and have an application package ready. Was wondering if this application could have any negative impact on my status as I have not come accross any post/person applying to change their status under similar situation.

canuck_in_uk

VIP Member
May 4, 2012
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
06/12
Thank you !