+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Applying for my first PR Card - Work history

alexandrus

Jan 23, 2014
I've been a permanent resident of Canada for a few years but I've never had a PR Card. Now I'm finally in the process of applying for one since I need it to travel outside of the country.

The application asks for my work history for the past five years, though. I've been able to find my record of employment copies for all jobs I've had for the past 5 years except one. I tried calling this particular company several times but the boss is a c*** and he's acting like he's got no time to check the start and end dates when I started working. The thing is that I need this done urgently because I have to leave Canada in June/July...my question is: can I just write down an approximate date of when I started working there in that particular section of the form or does it need to be the exact day?

Also, now that I've written this I realized something: I don't really need my PR Card to leave Canada, right? It's only required if you're entering Canada, or am I wrong? If this is the case, would I be doing anything illegal or shady by leaving the country in June without a PR Card and then have my family here mail it to the country I'm going to whenever they get the card in the mail?

Thank you in advance,
Alex

bonty

Star Member
Dec 19, 2013
Category........
Visa Office......
AUH
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
06-11-2013
Doc's Request.
27-02-2014
AOR Received.
27-02-2014
Med's Done....
09-09-2013
Interview........
waived
Passport Req..
28-09-2014
VISA ISSUED...
29-10-2014
LANDED..........
01-11-2014
You may face a problem if CIC calls you to pick your card from local CIC office, though 95% of PR cards are mailed on the residential/mailing address of the applicants. but you never know if you are in 5% or 95% as the QA program randomly selects cases.