+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Applying before/right after graduation

titaniom89

Star Member
Dec 21, 2009
Hi,

I am M.Sc. student and have already completed 4 semesters of my study but wouldn't be able to graduate until Aug. 2010. After graduation, I would definitely start my Ph.D. degree at the same university working as a Research Assistant. Here are my two questions

1) Can I apply for PR under CEC right after I graduated on Aug. 2010 since I will gain 1 year of full time experience within 2 years of applying? I read a similar sentence in the cic website regarding the work experience. I guess it means that you don't need to have the experience right now but you must gain it within two years!
2) Lets assume that I can apply under the aforementioned conditions. Since I will graduate 8 months later and have already completed 16 months of my post secondary study and also I still would be able to complete 1 year of full time experience within 2 years of applying, I wonder if I can apply NOW before being graduated?

Thanks

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
To apply under CEC, you need to have 1 year full time work experience AFTER you graduated. Therefore, you can not apply right after you graduate with your MSc. based on work experience you intend to gain but do not have yet.

After you work as an RA for one year, you should be able to apply, counting your MSc. as your 2(+) years of studies and your RA as your work experience.

If you have found any references on the CIC website about being able to apply based on work experience you don't already have, please post the link.

titaniom89

Star Member
Dec 21, 2009
Thank you Leon for the reply,

Here it is: cic.gc.ca -> immigrate -> cec -> graduates . It says "Your work experience must be gained within two years of the time you applied".

Sibtain

Dec 17, 2009