Med's Done....
30-07-2019
Passport Req..
12-02-2020
VISA ISSUED...
25-02-2020
LANDED..........
13-03-2020
I'm currently here on a Post Graduation Work Permit (PGWP) valid for one year. I graduated from Centennial College on 03/2018. I'm currently working for an employer full-time.

I was filling out my Express Entry application and noticed the question asking about a Labour Market Impact Assessment (LMIA). Most language around this seems to centre around out-of-country applicants who haven't been hired yet.

Could someone please clear up how the LMIA works for someone in my situation, where I'm working on an open work permit that's LMIA-exempt and want to continue working for the same employer after having applied for Express Entry? Do I even need one?

To clarify, I am NOC Type A.

bimale4bipeople

VIP Member
Apr 15, 2018
I'm currently here on a Post Graduation Work Permit (PGWP) valid for one year. I graduated from Centennial College on 03/2018. I'm currently working for an employer full-time.

I was filling out my Express Entry application and noticed the question asking about a Labour Market Impact Assessment (LMIA). Most language around this seems to centre around out-of-country applicants who haven't been hired yet.

Could someone please clear up how the LMIA works for someone in my situation, where I'm working on an open work permit that's LMIA-exempt and want to continue working for the same employer after having applied for Express Entry? Do I even need one?

Since you are on an OPW you don’t necessarily require a LMIA.
LMIA will come in handy if you need extra points such for valid job offer.
Other then that no need for an LMIA.

Reactions: shannonxtreme

shannonxtreme

Aug 25, 2018
Markham, ON
Category........
CEC
Visa Office......
Markham
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Yes
App. Filed.......
22-06-2019
AOR Received.
22-06-2019
Med's Done....
30-07-2019
Passport Req..
12-02-2020
VISA ISSUED...
25-02-2020
LANDED..........
13-03-2020