+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

American to Canada Immigration

mattg4469

Mar 27, 2012
Hello,

I am a 26 year old America and I am very interested in moving to Canada. I have a girl friend up in Edson, AB. I visited her in February and I desperately want to start my life with her and her daughter. My problem is that I will need employment while I am there. I don't have very much money so I cant immigrate through the skilled worker program because I don't have the 10 grand plus my skills are not currently needed. I am a certified teacher.
I don't think marriage will work either because she owes the Canadian government money and I think her sponsorship even if married I fear will be rejected.
My last option is the Alberta Nominee program and it sounds like my best option but I am having a hell of a time finding a job offer near her house in Edson. I am willing to do any work.
While browsing the CIC website I found out that in some cases it maybe possible for me to enter the country as a visitor, apply for a workers permit and then go about finding work. Has anyone ever heard of that working?
I have also heard I could move there as a visitor, look for a job, then go back to the border and apply for a workers permit there with the new job offer and I could start work even faster. My question is if anyone has ever heard of this working or am I just not reading things right?
If I am wrong, can anyone link me or help me out on the best ways to land a job in Canada? I'm running out of time and the whole process is extremely confusing. Thank you in advance.

Matt

wideopenspaces

Star Member
Jul 20, 2010
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..