+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Am I Applicable for the ETA?

Ausada

Dec 8, 2018
Hello, I'm an Australian hoping to move long-term to Canada early next year. Here's some background for my situation.

I first came to Canada as an exchange student a little under a year ago; I spent the first six months of 2018 studying abroad at the University of British Columbia. In that time I fell in love with the place, and decided that once I graduated with my degree (which is just about to happen) I would like to move back to live there in a more permanent capacity. Now obviously this would require some kind of work-related or residential visa, but I have read that as an Australian I do not need a visa for simple entry to the country, just an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA).

My question is two-fold: am I still applicable for this, being someone who has already lived in Vancouver for six months? And would it be possible (or advisable) to enter through the ETA, and then apply for a work visa once I've arrived? Now that I've finished studying, I would just like to be over there as quickly as possible, and I have enough money saved to last a little while as I search for work.

Thank you guys for your help - hopefully my questions are clear.

Bs65

VIP Member
Mar 22, 2016
So as an Australian passport holder you are visa exempt to enter Canada but you need an ETA to be able to board a plane which is all an ETA is for.

Only apply at the official ETA site given there are plenty of sites wanting to take a lot more than the 7 dollar fee

https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/visit-canada/eta.html

Not so easy to get a work permit as you would need to find an employer to sponsor an LMIA which employers are not that keen to do given both the cost and time to process. Plus no guarantee of course as a visitor you would get a 6 month stay anyway as a visitor for the process to complete.