+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Advice Needed Urgently: Name Change During Citizenship

PolishGuy

Apr 22, 2018
Hi All,

This is my first time posting and I am happy that I've found this forum dedicated to Canadian Citizenship.

I am here with a complex question and to preface, I am aware that this is a very convoluted and unique case and the best option here is to consult a lawyer about a case this personal.

However, I am here just to get preliminary opinions on if this is even worth considering as an option. So, do not worry, I understand all your opinions are not professional and will not base my decisions entirely upon them.

From my research, the process of name changes, in regards to CIC purposes is the following:

1) Legal name change in BC (my province) and obtain a name change certificate.
2) Send the legal name change certificate and a new citizenship certificate application to CIC.
3) Obtain a new citizenship certificate.
4) Use said citizenship certificate to apply for an updated passport.

Here are the facts of the case:

1) I have a pending citizenship application that is currently DM status. I am hoping for an Oath Invite in the next 2-4 weeks (approximated based on the tracking sheet data), and another 4 weeks (Vancouver has been very consistent with the 4-week notice) for taking the actual oath. So, if everything goes well (and I am aware it does not always do so), I will have citizenship in around 8 weeks.

2) I want to apply for a legal name change because my current name is in the language of my native country, and very difficult for others to pronounce. I have an Anglophone name that I have been using for the last six years in Canada, and it gets tedious to clarify between legal and preferred name. In BC, the processing of name changes is around 4-6 weeks, after which, I will receive a name change certificate.