+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

About to get married to a Bosnian and want to study in Canada

Oct 8, 2013
First of all, what a gr8 forum!!!

So this is my story:
I'm a female, 22 years old, live in Sweden and have been my whole life. I have a partner, 24 years old in Bosnia-Hercegovina. We are talking about getting married but our lives are so different. I've been dreaming about studying in Canada since I was in high school. My partner have finished high school as well. I'm currently studying here in Sweden and he is working in Turkey (lack of work in Bosnia, it's also not the best place to start a relationship/get married/have family) but then Sweden actually is. It's just that we both would rather be together when immigrating (if possible).

Since I'm interested in studying in Canada and I'm a Swedish resident, it's not a huge problem for me as it is for my partner. I could get a VISA, I can see I have all that it takes. I guess if he could find a job in Canada that would help a lot? Or? Then we talked about getting married and doing all this together, but again, not sure how much "ground" this story actually has to get anywhere. Because mainly we're not looking for a temporary move, we'd love to stay in Canada when we talk about out future. I would love to finish studies there and then my partner could either study or work. It's hard to explain why Canada, but it feels like the best choice, great country and fantastic opportunities. Then I believe as a Swedish resident I'm entitled to have a shared passport if I ever go to Canada.

Here in Sweden you can get a 2-year permit and then extend and often given permanent condition, after 5 years in Sweden you will become a Swedish resident and can get a Swedish passport. Is there a similar process in Canada?