+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

About summer semester.

qlwkej1

Sep 23, 2013
Hi there, I heard that regulations of study permit will change after June 01.
I am studying my major in the college operated by the government (i.e. Non-private college), and I want to stop my study for just this summer semester since I want to back to my country during this summer semester. (By the way, last semester was my first semester in Canada)

My concern is that according to the new regulation,
"if you hold a study permit, you must remain enrolled and make reasonable and timely progress towards completing your program; and
failing to do so could lead to your removal from Canada."
I don't understand exactly about this because the terms of my college consist of 3 terms (September-December, January-April, May-August), and if I take classes over the 3 terms, I cannot get any break between terms.

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
Hi

qlwkej1 said:
Hi there, I heard that regulations of study permit will change after June 01.
I am studying my major in the college operated by the government (i.e. Non-private college), and I want to stop my study for just this summer semester since I want to back to my country during this summer semester. (By the way, last semester was my first semester in Canada)

My concern is that according to the new regulation,
"if you hold a study permit, you must remain enrolled and make reasonable and timely progress towards completing your program; and
failing to do so could lead to your removal from Canada."
I don't understand exactly about this because the terms of my college consist of 3 terms (September-December, January-April, May-August), and if I take classes over the 3 terms, I cannot get any break between terms.

As long as you take 2 terms per year, you are fine.

qlwkej1

Sep 23, 2013
PMM said:
Hi

As long as you take 2 terms per year, you are fine.
Thanks PMM.