+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

A few questions about moving to Canada from USA

smallwhale

Feb 24, 2010
Hello all,

I am planning to move to Canada from USA sometimes in the summer of 2017 (got my PR in 2014). I will be moving with my spouse and two kids. One of the kids is in elementary school and the other one is in pre-school. Being a software engineer, I am primarily looking for the suburbs of Toronto, Vancouver, and Ottawa. There may be other places. But a simple google search is showing me these three cities primarily. I am not interested in staying in the big city and that is the reason I am looking for nearby suburbs. As I will be new to Canada, so I have quite a few questions in my mind. Any suggestions would be deeply appreciated.

1) How is the school system ? When is the right time to contact them for the registration in the next school year ? Or, do I have to first find a home and the school will be decided depending on the home address ? If I come during summer, will it be too late for the registration in school ?

2) What are some of the good neighborhoods where I may rent a townhome/single-family home ? What are the websites that may be used to search for rentals ?

3) Applying for SIN and health insurance ? I am assuming SIN is mandatory even to get a receiving pay from the job. Can I apply for SIN even before I come to Canada ? How long does it take to get the SIN once applied ? Same questions with health insurance. I heard that it takes some time to get the benefits of health insurance once applied. How do you manage medical emergencies or doctor visits during that time ?

4) I do not think opening a bank account and transferring funds from my USA bank accounts would be a very big deal. But am I over-simplifying things here ?

5) Getting a job. Not yet actively looked for the job. Started using linkedin search. But any suggestions for job search would be really helpful.