+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Would I need a visitor visa or would Student visa suffice

jamesdent1996

Apr 12, 2017
Hi guys,

Just a quick question. I'm studying in the UK and have been nominated by my home university to study from September to December at a university in Ontario. Obviously I would be going as a student so it would be straight forward but my friend is going over too and his placement starts in July and I was wondering whether I could go at the same time despite the fact my studies do not start until September. Would my student visa cover July to December or would I have to apply for a visitor visa for the first two months and then a student visa for the rest?

Rather confused as there's not much information online. If anyone could help I would be so grateful. Thanks.

James

yesam2017

Apr 3, 2017
is your student visa issued? If it is and I would assume it would be valid from date issued to December. Then it that case you do not need visitor visa

twuser

Star Member
Mar 8, 2017
yesam2017 said:
is your student visa issued? If it is and I would assume it would be valid from date issued to December. Then it that case you do not need visitor visa
Wrong.

1. July is a bit too early for the OP to enter considering the fall intake, he might get questioned at the port of entry (considering he is from a country that requires a visa to enter the country).
2. Assuming he is allowed to enter on a student visa, the OP needs to be full time or at least part time student at a school (depending on his visa conditions).

Purpose of visit for a visit visa and study visa are not interchangeable.

jamesdent1996

Apr 12, 2017