+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Where to start... work permit, visitor, marriage? Going crazy!

AZSvenska

Sep 11, 2017
I’m not sure where to ask this question, so I’ll post it in two forums. My apologies for the length… but bear with me if you can.

A brief intro about me: I am 33 years old and am currently in veterinary school in Arizona. I have a college degree and was an administrative assistant and then accounting manager for the last 8 years before applying to vet school. I met my now fiancé about a year and a half ago in Arizona. He is a Canadian citizen living in the Vancouver area. We want to do everything exactly right, but the more I read the more confused I become. I thought I’d have an easier time navigating through the processes but I’m finding that isn’t the case. Between work permit applications, common law partnerships (which we are not), sponsors, fast track immigration programs for skilled applicants, etc. I don’t know what to proceed with.

I’m not looking for anyone to do the work for me or spoon-feed me with instructions. I’m simply looking for any recommendation or nudge in the right direction, and it would be greatly appreciated!

My fiancé is in the film industry and has passed my resume around to his colleagues. I’ve received positive feedback from many people assuring me that with my accounting background, I should be able to find employment rather easily. This is encouraging but leads me to my primary question. Do I secure a job offer (hopefully!), apply for a work permit and work and live in BC for a period of time before we get married? Or is it better to get married and then make the move to BC? I know being married to a citizen doesn’t guarantee much, but I’ve read horror stories about both options and am completely intimidated by the possibilities.