+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Volunteer Work and Unpaid Opportunities

AE0626

Aug 16, 2010
Hi to all fellow PR applicants!

Wanted to give some advice on how you can all make use of your time while in Canada. My profession is in recruitment and talent acquisition and have done alot of this in my country. When I moved to Canada with my husband, I did not have the papers to legally work in Canada. Given this, I decided to make use of my time and check out volunteer opportunities within my field. It has alot of advantages: 1) it allows you to have a feel of the industry and work environment you would wish to belong to. 2) You gain networks- both professional and personal 3) it helps pass the time :D

Having had the background in HR, I wanted to learn more about the talent pool within Canada and at the same time, be more aware of the labor market. I used the opportunity to get back to the basics and re-learn all the skills. afterall, I had nothing to lose. I was unable to work in Canada so might as well, use the chance to gain the Canadian experience that most employers will be looking for once I finally get my PR.

I have done 3 internships since I got here. one in the governement, one in the private sector and my most recent is with a staffing agency which is exactly what I do in my country. Now that my work permit is on the way, I have been receivng invitations for an interview from the contacts I have gained.

This is definitly something you may want to try out. I literally googled the words 'volunteer ottawa' or 'unpaid opportunities' and found alot of opportunities. This is just a suggestion for all applicants out there who are looking for ways to pass the time. It definitely worked for me! Best of luck to all applicants! :)

eletyl

Star Member
Mar 28, 2011
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
31-12-2010
AOR Received.
11-04-2011
Med's Done....
20-12-2010
Passport Req..