+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Transferring citizenship application file to another province

visavorpr

May 8, 2018
Hello,

How long does it take to transfer a citizenship application from one office to another office?

I have applied for citizenship in March from Halifax. I passed the test at the end of August and was invited to attend oath ceremony November 14th.

I moved to Toronto in may as I graduated and found a job in Toronto. I flew in for my test and I booked my flight for my oath. Was planning to come in the day before my oath and my flight got cancelled, consecutive flights the next day got cancelled as well and I missed my oath.

I wrote an explanation and submitted proof of cancelled flight and was told I will be rescheduled. I also changed my address so that I do not have to fly again to Halifax especially during winter as the flights are very unreliable during winter (one time I got stuck at the airport for 4 days trying to fly to Halifax in January and do not want to repeat this experience). I have requested for my file to be transferred November 14th. As of December 10th my file is still in Halifax waiting to be transferred.

Called immigration to ask how long does it take to transfer the file and was told the same thing everyone gets told when they call "You are still within the processing time of 1 year so you just need to wait, your oath will be rescheduled by your local office once the file is transferred.". Can anyone share their experience transferring files?

Thank you

Reactions: GeoCanadian

visavorpr

May 8, 2018
Hello,

I thought I will update my thread here as someone has DMed me asking for an update.
My Timeline:
March 2018: Submitted application for citizenship from Halifax
August 2018: Passed my citizenship test in Halifax
November 14 2018: Missed my oath.
November 14th 2018 I have requested a file transfer to Toronto