+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Spouse considered non-resident? Pls help.

kamae

Star Member
Sep 22, 2011
Ontario
Category........
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
AOR Received.
Jan 12, 2016
Passport Req..
April 20, 2016
Hello,

I am in a bit of a sticky situation. It is the first time for my husband and I to file taxes. We're both on a work permit in Canada. I have been in Canada since 2012 but only started working in 2014 as I was a student from 2012-2013. I never filed before because I didn't know I could file despite not having worked in Canada (So I basically do not understand how this works). The problem I have is that I do not know if my husband is considered a resident or non-resident and if he should be taxed for his worldwide income. He arrived Sept 28, 2014. He did work starting November 2014 in Canada, so I know he has to file for income earned from then till end of 2014. The problem is that he worked as a nurse in New Zealand in 2014. If he is to be taxed for the income he earned in New Zealand, he will be paying quite a big amount to Canada. I am wondering if he is to be considered a resident since in 2014, he only stayed for 3 months (appx 90 days). I understand that his wife is here, but I too am only on a work permit, so I don't know if that makes a difference. I am really confused as to what to do. We do not want to end up paying money that we do not have to. If it makes any difference, none of his income in NZ has been used to support me while I was here since my family had enough money to support me. Thank you in advance for your responses.

cooldoc80

Nov 1, 2010
NOC Code......
Passport Req..
No PPR yet , just Passport Biopage request
LANDED..........
I'm Dreaming of July/2015
i'm not an expert but if your not a permenant resident then why should you pay any taxes !!!! your husband is not a resident so only you should pay !

but let other experts confirm this first

chimney007

Mar 31, 2015