+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Renewing pr card with a criminal record

missingu

Nov 5, 2014
Hello!
The expiration date of my pr card is next year soon and I have lived in Canada since 2006 after acquiring pr status.
Unfortunately a few days ago, I did stupid shamful mistake, shoplifting about $50 food in market, I got arrested and received paper that says I have to go police office to hand in finger print next month and attent to the court Jan 2015.
After googling another site, I may have the FINE sentence under $5,000.
I'm really afraid how this criminal record affects PR card renewal and job oppotunity.
Now I'm studying at Goverment run job professional school and receive bursary,goverment loan and finish next April, and then need to work right away. Please answer me!

Alurra71

VIP Member
Oct 5, 2012
Ontario
Visa Office......
Vegreville
App. Filed.......
07-12-2012
AOR Received.
21-01-2013
Interview........
waived
VISA ISSUED...
28-11-2013
LANDED..........
19-12-2013
missingu said:
Hello!
The expiration date of my pr card is next year soon and I have lived in Canada since 2006 after acquiring pr status.
Unfortunately a few days ago, I did stupid shamful mistake, shoplifting about $50 food in market, I got arrested and received paper that says I have to go police office to hand in finger print next month and attent to the court Jan 2015.
After googling another site, I may have the FINE sentence under $5,000.
I'm really afraid how this criminal record affects PR card renewal and job oppotunity.
Now I'm studying at Goverment run job professional school and receive bursary,goverment loan and finish next April, and then need to work right away. Please answer me!
You should be fine to renew your PR card. I am a little unsure how well a new 'government' job is going to go for you with theft on your criminal record, but then, I suppose if you are going to be a politician that might be a pre-requisite?