+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Question about Citizenship

fitter_happier

Star Member
Aug 14, 2016
Hello all,

I am currently a Canadian permanent resident. According to the "Physical Presence Calculator" I'll be eligible to apply for Canadian Citizenship this coming November.

I plan on leaving Canada on January 10th 2020 and return to my home country for a while. I'm not sure for how long yet but it is a one way ticket.

For anyone who has done the application for becoming a Canadian citizen, am I leaving myself enough time between applying in November to when I leave on January 10th? According to this official page,

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/helpcentre/answer.asp?qnum=911&top=5

I may leave Canada after I've submitted my application form. I will of course return to Canada to take the Exam and do the Oath if all goes to plan.

Will I require a new IELTS pass to prove my English speaking abilities for Citizenship? I'll need to check but I am sure mine expires soon or already has. Anything else I should be aware of (medical, police record checks, etc.) ?

I guess my general question here is how similar is the application process for Citizenship to PR in terms of all the document gathering and information you need to provide?

xylene

Apr 16, 2010
Visa Office......
New Delhi
NOC Code......
App. Filed.......
24-June-2010
Doc's Request.
05-Oct-2010
AOR Received.
07-Feb-2011
File Transfer...
In Process 24-May-2012
Med's Request
04-Sep-2013
Med's Done....
16-Sep-2013 | 28-Oct-2013 'Medical Received' line in eCAS
Passport Req..
PP reached NDVO on 19-Sep-2013
VISA ISSUED...
DM 23-Jan-2014
LANDED..........
Apr 2014

Jayson

Champion Member
Aug 8, 2013
Hello all,

I am currently a Canadian permanent resident. According to the "Physical Presence Calculator" I'll be eligible to apply for Canadian Citizenship this coming November.