+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PR obligations (minor studying abroad, divorced parents still together abroad)

shirleyw

Sep 19, 2009
Hi,
I have read a few posts in the forum, and I find the information very useful. I hope you will be able to help me and let me know what are some remedies available for my case.

I am 21, landed as permanent resident(my mom married a canadian citizen) when I was 17 (august 2005) for 1 year until July 2006.
Within that year, the marriage broke down as my stepdad had an affair and was in debts, and my mom filed a divorce in July 2006.
I left Canada with my mom in July 2006; I was 18, my parents could not finance my university studies in canada (my stepdad refused to assist in my OSAP application), and I had to seek affordable education possibilities abroad.

Now, I am still studying abroad and therefore cannot return to Canada yet. I will graduate in July 2010, which is also when my PR card is about to expire.
My mom has remained outside Canada the entire time; while my stepdad (canadian citizen) also returned to the same country where my mom's at; they were divorced but their relationship went on and off.

I wish to maintain my PR status, and return to Canada when I graduate(before my PR card expires). I would like to know if it is still possible for me to continue my permanent residence status, and whether if my PR obligations are met due to the following...

1.) a.) I am under 22 of age; Besides the 11 month I spent physically in Canada, I have spent more than 1 year time with my mom (PR) outside of Canada. Which when added to the 11 month, will be more than 730 days that are required in 5 years.