+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

permanent resident abroad with valid travel document

conny

Oct 25, 2012
Hi Everyone,
I lived in Canada for 12 years, and have now been living with my Canadian husband Abroad. I applied for a open ened multiple entry travel document valid for 5 years, like it stated online you could apply for. They processed it really fast but it came back being valid for only 6 months. And since I applied for a 5 year document Iam really not well prepared and the weeks seem to fly by. My question is the steps I need to take in order to legally be allowed to work? How to get Health coverage? I need to replace a lost Social Insurance Number? And lastly how to renew my drivers license?
But the biggest question is how to I prove that I am a permanent resident once I am in the country?
I worry I cant work or get health coverage until I have a valid PR card, which would be 6 months.
Any answers or experiences are greatly appreciated.

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
As far as I know there is no such thing as an open ended multiple entry travel document for PR's. A travel document is meant for a PR who is outside Canada to travel back, one time, and to apply to renew their PR card once they are inside. Your COPR/landing papers as well as your expired card can be used to prove your PR status until you get your renewed card.

conny

Oct 25, 2012
Thanks for your reply Leon but I just want to show you where I read that about the multiple entry travel document. Look under what happens next .cic.gc.ca/english/information/applications/guides/5529ETOC .asp

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
conny said:
Thanks for your reply Leon but I just want to show you where I read that about the multiple entry travel document. Look under what happens next .cic.gc.ca/english/information/applications/guides/5529ETOC .asp