+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

MSP in BC (full time student and no job but billed $600+)

waleedhk

Sep 28, 2013
Hi,
I have a quick question: I have never received MSP bill until today and it was $530 in unpaid charges while $69.25 for the upcoming month. The question is if i never had a job in this or the previous year (i have been volunteering but no job) because I am a full time student at a university, would I be liable to pay all those charges or should i call them up and let them know about my situation.

Please reply.

Thank you

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
BC is the only province that charges a monthly fee for health care. Not paying it doesn't make it go away.

If you go to http://www.health.gov.bc.ca/msp/infoben/premium.html there is a section about Premium assistance. You can check that out to see if you qualify.

waleedhk

Sep 28, 2013
@leon the table below says if you are in $0-$22000 income range then you don't pay anything. What is that about then?

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
waleedhk said:
@ leon the table below says if you are in $0-$22000 income range then you don't pay anything. What is that about then?
If you read the website (link above) it says:

Regular Premium Assistance

Effective January 1, 2010, the Regular Premium Assistance program was enhanced to allow more British Columbians to qualify and to allow persons already receiving a partial subsidy to qualify for a higher level of assistance.