+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Live in canada work in US

parahsalin

Jan 22, 2015
Hey
So I'm a nurse from the US, and am staying in Canada with my boyfriend under a visitors visa.

I am about 40 mins away from the US border. Is it possible for me to still work as a nurse in the US, say a few times a month, and cross the border to stay with my boyfriend?

I have about 4 months til all my nursing paperwork comes through here in Canada and can be working as a nurse here.

Thoughts?

dpenabill

VIP Member
Apr 2, 2010
parahsalin said:
So I'm a nurse from the US, and am staying in Canada with my boyfriend under a visitors visa.

I am about 40 mins away from the US border. Is it possible for me to still work as a nurse in the US, say a few times a month, and cross the border to stay with my boyfriend?

I have about 4 months til all my nursing paperwork comes through here in Canada and can be working as a nurse here.

Thoughts?
Probably no problem so long as it is clear you are, in the meantime, really just visiting Canada, not living in Canada. Thus, so long as you retain employment in the U.S., and have a residential address in the U.S., the odds are very good that you could travel back and forth regularly for at least several months. Doing a daily commute, however, might invite a referral to secondary at the POE, where how you answer the questions could affect the examining officer's conclusions and decisions.