abedelia

Star Member
Oct 7, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Let's say my husband and I are both Canadian, but not by birth--he is by having been born to Canadian parents in the US and I am by becoming a naturalized Canadian citizen (also born in the US). Let's say we are living in the US and we have a baby. And then we move to Canada. My understanding is that the baby would not be a Canadian citizen. Do we have to "sponsor" the baby??? And then he can apply for citizenship? How does this work?

Is there any difference if my husband is a Canadian citizen and I'm a permanent resident of Canada but the baby is born in the US?

Ned

Nov 10, 2009
Your baby would be a Canadian citizen. I am a naturalized Canadian citizen. My son was born in England (after I became a Canadian citizen) and he is also a Canadian citizen (I obtained a Canadian citizenship certificate for him).

Google "Am I a Canadian Citizen?" and complete the questionnaire on the CIC website on behalf of your baby. Sorry - I can't post the link.

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
Hi

Ned said:
Your baby would be a Canadian citizen. I am a naturalized Canadian citizen. My son was born in England (after I became a Canadian citizen) and he is also a Canadian citizen (I obtained a Canadian citizenship certificate for him).

Google "Am I a Canadian Citizen?" and complete the questionnaire on the CIC website on behalf of your baby. Sorry - I can't post the link.
The child would be a Canadian citizen because of the mother's citizenship if the child was born after 19/04/09.

Ned

Nov 10, 2009