+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Complicated work experience case for PR

Aghapapa

May 17, 2017
Hi everyone,

I have graduated from York university in Toronto in 2013 from an undergrad program (economy). I obtained my post grad work permit in 2013 which was expired in 2016. During this time, my plans changed so I moved to Vancouver, obtained a study permit and I was enrolled in a master's degree in education in 2014 and I am still a student in this program. I have been working off campus from 2014 until present (it's a part-time job, and I am a full time student). The amount of hours that I have worked when I had work permit is 1260 hours (300 hours below the minimum requirement of 1560 hours to be eligible for CEC or skilled worker class). I have been working at the same job after my work permit was expired but under my study permit (which allows 20 hours/week).

So in reality, I have worked more than 1560 hours, but because my work permit was expired, only 1260 hours can be counted for skilled worker program-Express Entry. is that right? CIC website says that any work experience that you have done while a full-time student does not count towards work experience, but I had both work permits and a study permit at the same time. Does it apply to me? or my 1260 hours still count?

Which stream should I apply in order to get permanent residency? What are my options?

PS: I can not apply for PNP international post-graduate, since my program is not eligible. What about International Graduate? Is PNP an option? Or is there a way for direct federal application?

jes_ON

VIP Member
Jun 22, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
New York
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
06-May-2010
AOR Received.
13-Aug-2010
File Transfer...
01-Mar-2011
Passport Req..
30-Jun-2011
VISA ISSUED...
12-Jul-2011 (received 25-Jul-2011)
LANDED..........
03-Sep-2011
Hi everyone,