+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

12 days short of 730 days

square111

Star Member
Jun 19, 2009
If a PR is short of residency obligations by 12 days. Applies for PR Card renewal and has to leave Canada in an emergency before a decision on the renewal is made by CIC.
In the opinion of experienced members, what is the most likely outcome?

dpenabill

VIP Member
Apr 2, 2010
square111 said:
If a PR is short of residency obligations by 12 days. Applies for PR Card renewal and has to leave Canada in an emergency before a decision on the renewal is made by CIC.
I have no personal experience with this, but I have been following related issues and reports for several years.

Overall: high odds this will seriously risk the loss of PR status unless:

-- the PR has in the meantime come into compliance with the PR Residency Obligation

OR

-- there are well documented, compelling H&C reasons why status should be retained

Thus, for example, if you are talking about a PR who applied for a new card when he or she was 12 days short of compliance with the RO, and travels abroad months later while the PR card application was still in process, but after the PR has come into compliance (due to additional days in Canada after applying), the PR card application may be denied, but the PR will retain PR status and would just have to make a new application for a PR card.

Observations --

Generally the application for a new PR card will be denied if the PR is not in compliance with the PR Residency Obligation as of the date the application is made. That said, where in the meantime, before a decision is made on the application, it is clear the PR has come into compliance with the PR Residency Obligation, there is the possibility a new PR card might be issued and delivered to the PR