+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Working as a freelancer/contractor while studying full time

incominguser

May 5, 2023
Hey everyone, so I currently work as a freelancer/contractor for a US based client who has no presence in Canada. Since it is a complete remote job I was wondering if I can keep working while I start my course this September and since its stated here https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/study-canada/work/work-off-campus.html, that if you remotely work for an employer outside of Canada then it isn't counted towards 20 hours but would this mean that I can work 40 hours as I do currently. Also, I understand that I will be liable to pay taxes so any help or tips would be great. Thanks in advance!

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Hey everyone, so I currently work as a freelancer/contractor for a US based client who has no presence in Canada. Since it is a complete remote job I was wondering if I can keep working while I start my course this September and since its stated here https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/study-canada/work/work-off-campus.html, that if you remotely work for an employer outside of Canada then it isn't counted towards 20 hours but would this mean that I can work 40 hours as I do currently. Also, I understand that I will be liable to pay taxes so any help or tips would be great. Thanks in advance!
Yes, you can continue working for this employer full time as long as they have no presence in Canada and also no Canadian customers / clients. This will not count towards the 20 hours provided all of these conditions are met.