+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Vancouver area, rent or buy in 2-5 years perspective

ValeryN

Jan 5, 2012
Hello all!

I'm new in Canada and just switched to a work permit from business visa.
My work permit will be valid for 1 year and I think it won't be a big issue to get it prolonged, since I already have full-time employment contract without termination date and have a lot of work experience in my area in total.
I haven't decided yet, but most probably will start immigration process by FSW or CEC program later, after I'll have enough Canadian work experience.

Looking for your advice here.

What to do better in case I plan to stay in Canada for 2-5 year - rent an apartment or to buy one.

Don't really need a house of huge apartment. 1-2 bed rooms will be fine, better if close to public transport.
To give you an idea about location preferences - Burnaby in generic is considered as very good and convenient location.

To buy - mortgage will be required, so, don't want to buy something more expensive than 200k and looking for ~150k options.
In case of buying - ready to invest 30k-50k as a first payment.

Expected salary range is - 80-110k a year (as is, taxes will be applied).

Thanks you for you responses and advices in advance!

PS. I pay rent for 1 bed room apartment now, it is ~850$ a month.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Have you spent any time on the MSL site (Canadian real estate listings) looking at properties for sale? Finding out what your money will buy may make this decision easier for you. The link to the MLS site here here:

http://www.mls.ca/splash.aspx

If you want to spend $200K or less, I think you're looking at a one bedroom.

ValeryN

Jan 5, 2012
Thank you for your reply.