+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Unclear eTA/ Require work permit

Thymin

Mar 1, 2024
Dear Community,

I am a researcher from a Visa exempt country, with an LMIA exemption. I have an offer letter and a work contract from a Canadian university.

What I need to start my job is a work permit for which I can apply online, however, due to waiting periods of more than a year and the nature of academia this is not feasible.

The university, which is recruiting me, informed me that I may apply for an work permit at the port of entry (i.e. some airport within Canada).

In order to get there, I need an eTA. However the eTA form online does not seem to have an option that applies to me, since I intend to work there, but am not work permit exempt.

I could indicate that I am coming as a tourist, but am not sure, if that is okay.

please advise.

Naturgrl

VIP Member
Apr 5, 2020
Dear Community,

I am a researcher from a Visa exempt country, with an LMIA exemption. I have an offer letter and a work contract from a Canadian university.

What I need to start my job is a work permit for which I can apply online, however, due to waiting periods of more than a year and the nature of academia this is not feasible.

The university, which is recruiting me, informed me that I may apply for an work permit at the port of entry (i.e. some airport within Canada).

In order to get there, I need an eTA. However the eTA form online does not seem to have an option that applies to me, since I intend to work there, but am not work permit exempt.

I could indicate that I am coming as a tourist, but am not sure, if that is okay.

please advise.
What country are you from?

Reactions: Thymin

Thymin

Mar 1, 2024
Because I come to Canada to work, but when I chose work in the eTA form, it redirects me to the online application for a work permit. What the problem is with this, is described in my initial post.

Naturgrl

VIP Member
Apr 5, 2020