+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

TRV refusal based on PGWP, please help, URGENT

manonoma87

Apr 4, 2015
Hi everyone

I was an international student in Canada from Jan 2007 to April 2013. I acquired 2 post-secondary degrees and in June 2013, after graduating from York University, i got my PGWP in July until March 2016. I left Canada by the end of April 2013 because i hadnt met my family in Pakistan in 2 years. I had all the intentions to go back to canada and work on my PGWP but my parents got me married in Jan 2014. So i had to stay in pakistan with my husband and his family and i started to help my husband and my father in law in their family owned small businesses; managing their accounts, marketing and such as i have graduated with a business administration and administrative studies degrees from toronto, canada.

For 2 years i did not travel to canada and unfortunately wasted my PGWP as i got busy here with family businesses and i had to have my husbands permission to work in canada. So just recently my husband permitted me to work in canada to gain some valuable experience until my PGWP expires to i could be better equiped to help him and my father in law with their businesses when i return. Or i could even apply for my PR in Canada if i could get a good job.

So i wanted to leave asap while i still have one year left on my PGWP and a possibility of 4 months extention as i did not get it for entire 3 years due to my passport expiring in Mar 2016. I applied for my TRV based on my PGWP on Feb 25 and i received a refusal on Mar 25, the reason being that the VO was not satisfied that i would leave canada at the end of my visa and some very common factors:
1) purpose of visit
2) current employment condition
3) assets and financial status
4) travel history

Well purpose of visit is obvious that i want work and gain canadian work experience.i still have a year left on my PGWP. I guess i wasnt clear in explaining that to the VO.