+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Study permit not needed any more

Myelizabeth

May 22, 2014
I have the following situation. I am an exchange student from the Netherlands but have Russian passport. From September 2014 till April 2015 I am supposed to come to Canada as an exchange student. I already applied pot the study permit together with temporarily resident visa, but still do not receive it. Because of the personal circumstances I cannot go in September, but will go in January 2015. Therefore, I do not need a study permit any more since I will come only for 4 months. I assume that my temporarily residence visa will expire in January. Which other visa and documents do I need to come to canada in January instead of September? Should I cancel my study permit, since it is only under consideration now...

Kind regards,
Luza

Regina

VIP Member
Feb 2, 2006
Beautiful British Columbia
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
From September 2014 till April 2015 I am supposed to come to Canada as an exchange student.
Do you have a personal choise for how long you may come? For 8 months or for 4 months?

I already applied for the study permit together with temporarily resident visa, but still do not receive it. Because of the personal circumstances I cannot go in September, but will go in January 2015. Therefore, I do not need a study permit any more since I will come only for 4 months.
That's true, BUT you have to get some sort of Letter of acceptance (not sure how it works for exchange students) from your university in Canada that your wnrollment is postponed till January. Ann when you get to Canada in January , at POE you should have it with you.