+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

student spouse visitor visa

Sep 27, 2011
hi there. this is twinkle and i am an international student under student partnership program and am being in Canada since January, 2011. i have 2 years study program. i am married but when i applied for visa that time i was unmarried. i want my husband to be here in Canada so i have question that is it possible that he can come on visitor visa and then we get marry here again and he can be my dependent and stay here? or is there any other way that i can sponsor him during my work permit? i am so confused regarding these things..can you suggest me what to do next?

please do the needful

jsinghj88

Star Member
Sep 15, 2011
hello twinkle m in da same situation , m in India n my wife went to canada on student visa in sept 2011 , da thing is ur husband shld apply for visitor visa ,once he will step in da canada he can apply for open work permit which will b valid as long as ur visa is valid n der is no need 2 get married again in canada he can directly apply for work permit wid marriage certificate , pls reply if hez applyin soon

Sep 27, 2011
thanks for reply. he is not under skilled worker category and i have lot of other questions.

how can he get open work permit here?
is there any other rule for that like any one on visitor visa can extend their stay in Canada in form of work permit? please let me know.
and u mean that if he applies for work permit then he can apply on basis of our marriage certificate..right?
how long he can stay here? on the base of his visitor visa? or on the base of his work permit visa? or till my student visa get expire? and when he should apply from visitor visa to work permit? soon after coming to Canada?

other thing is we want to settle here permanently so give us gud suggestion.
thanks

jsinghj88

Star Member
Sep 15, 2011