+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Stuck in Egypt? Do I have chance?

eggroup

May 7, 2010
I am a permanent resident of Canada since 24-06-2010, Business category.

On 1st of July 2010, I went back to Egypt, my home country, to sell a real estate property I own and transfer the money to Canada to start my new life there.

As a result of the global recession, I faced a declined demand for real estate in Egypt and thus the operation took longer than I expected until January 2011 when the Egyptian Revolution started.

The Revolution hurt me in three ways:

1. There is a deep recession now in Egypt with almost no selling at all.
2. If I can sell in local currency – in spite of the recession – I can't buy Dollars from the bank as Central Bank of Egypt tries to decrease the pressure on local currency.
3. If it happened – theoretically – and I could get the Dollars, I can't transfer it outside of Egypt!!

Now, I am stuck in Egypt and I can't come back to Canada because of money.

My Questions to you are:

1. What are my chances if the situation remains as it is for years to come?
2. Is there anything I can do to save my immigration project from being ruined?

Thank you for your time.

By the way, on 2nd of Sept. 2011, I sent a letter with this text to the following canadian authority:

Citizenship and Immigration (IIP)
Centralized Intake Office
PO Box 8888
Sydney, Nova Scotia
B1P 0C9
Canada

No reply till now.

I got in contact with some canadian friends and they told me that a written reply will never happen so as not to be taken against them, is this true?

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
As a PR, you can spend up to 3 years outside Canada in your first 5 years as a PR or any rolling 5 year period after that. As a business applicant, you might have some other conditions about running a business which I am not aware of though.