+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Quebec to Ontario

Jayant

Jul 29, 2011
Hello Friends...

I am an indian resident and want to move to canada-Ontario..when i consulted one the overseas consultant here, she advise me to go via Quebec,i.e I need to apply first for quebec PR and after a period of 2 yrs i can apply for Ontario PR.

My Question here is that is it possible to do so, and if yes then how much time will it take for the processing.??

Thanking you in anticipation...

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
1. There is no Quebec or Ontario PR, it is Canada PR.

2. Quebec has it's own immigration classes as do many other provinces intended for people who want to settle in that province. They make you sign documents stating that your intention is to settle in that province but there is no minimum amount of time listed that you must stay there. Therefore it is common that people who do not intend to settle in that province apply there anyway because they qualify for that immigration class but once they get their PR, they do not actually settle there, at least not for long.

3. It is possible to do this as long as you never let anybody know that you do not intend to settle in Quebec. You should also land in Quebec once you get your PR and you should preferably stay for at least a few months so in case somebody asks you later if you intended to settle in Quebec at the time you landed, you can say that you stayed for a few months but couldn't find a job. If you had left within a week after landing and gone to Ontario, it would be very hard for you to maintain that you had intended to settle in Quebec all along and until the time of landing. They are not checking this right now as far as I know but they may in the future.

Jayant

Jul 29, 2011
Thanks Leon...

In that case I would also loke to know that what reasons do i need to give for not staying in Quebec and shifting to Onterio.