NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
20-08-2010, CC 09-09-2010
IELTS Request
Sent - 8.5
Hi Guys,

I became a PR of Canada in 2011 but never moved to Canada and stayed in the US. I recently applied for a job in the Bank of Canada and interviewed for the position. Due to the specialized nature of my work, I am offered a job in Ottawa working for the Bank of Canada.

As this would be a federal job and I have never worked in Canada before, could the folks on the forum let me know any pros and cons of a federal job. I am originally from India and my perception of a government job is easy going work but with a stagnant career. I am quite young so would not prefer such an environment.

Your guidance could help me chose this job and move from the US, otherwise I might just stay put in the US. Thanks in advance.

Thanks

Jedi3000

May 7, 2013
Federal or provincial govt. jobs all excellent and very difficult to find. You are very lucky to find it. Congrats!!!

I'm having an impossible time getting a job in my field. Lots and lots of silent discrimination against immigrants, I feel.

I visited Ottawa last fall for 3 days, and got lots of hostile looks from others. Not sure why, but I suspect it's because of my skin colour.

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
Hi

Spicejet said:
Hi Guys,

I became a PR of Canada in 2011 but never moved to Canada and stayed in the US. I recently applied for a job in the Bank of Canada and interviewed for the position. Due to the specialized nature of my work, I am offered a job in Ottawa working for the Bank of Canada.

As this would be a federal job and I have never worked in Canada before, could the folks on the forum let me know any pros and cons of a federal job. I am originally from India and my perception of a government job is easy going work but with a stagnant career. I am quite young so would not prefer such an environment.