+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

parents sponsorship, by PR

nymorales03

Jun 17, 2011
Hello everyone,

I am new here and I have some questions, I hope someone can help me:

I am a permanent resident and would like to sponsor my parents,,,I know to maintain my status I have to live in Canada 2 years of a 5 year period. So far, I have been here one year.

I would like to know if it is possible to start and send the application process,,,,I hear it takes around 45 months for processing in Canada,,,,so can I leave Canada after being here for 2 years have the application on process and then go back to my contry with my parents while the aprox 5 year waiting takes place and then come back to Canada???

I was planning to stay 2 years in Canada,,,,then leave for 6 and come back the last 2 years (then its 2- 5 year periods where I am 2 years here) and by then the sponsorship would almost be finished.

In the meantime I could prove I still have income although it would be foreign,,,,,,so my question is then,,,,,do I have to stay in Canada while the whole 5 to 7 years waiting takes place or is there anyway around it??? because I dont want to be seprarted from my parents for that long.

thank you!

Stumpedmom

Sep 16, 2010
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
22/03/2011 Receivd CPC-M
AOR Received.
16/06/2011
File Transfer...
06/05/2011 Received in Buffalo, 06/2011 to Los Angeles
Med's Done....
12/10/2010
Interview........
waived...obviously cuz we got the PPR
Passport Req..
16/8/2011
VISA ISSUED...
24/8/2011 in our hands 8/29/2011
LANDED..........
3/9/2011
If you are a PR sponsoring family members you are supposed to be in Canada for the duration of processing, short trips out of country are usually acceptable but not as you have described. If they find out that you are out of country they can cancel the application....