+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Ontario (GTA)--Can Open House owners request visitors' personal INFO upon entry?

Pina Colada

Star Member
Apr 30, 2014
So I was visiting a few OPEN HOUSES in the Richmond Hill area in Toronto.

One of the open houses (Nicely decorated !! Over 2 million) has the following requests:
** Name
** Phone number
** Current Address
** Email
The Selling agent said each visitor MUST FILL OUT PHONE NUMBER & CURRENT ADDRESS, as the OWNER REQUESTED.

:eek: I was in doubt (since I'm new in Toronto, not familiar with the real estate laws).
It's UNDERSTANDABLE that the owner may think of it (Personal INFO collection) as a security measure, since we enter his/her current house.

:) Please enlighten me if there's any by-laws indicating such personal info MUST be collected during an 'OPEN HOUSE' stage.
Because I'm not quite comfortable giving out ADDRESS while SHOPPING <<< Doesn't "Open House" means you are opening your home for public (POTENTIAL BUYER) to browse around ?

:) Just like CAR SHOPPING/ BABY CLOTHERS SHOPPING.....ETC. We don't need to show PERSONAL INFO while entering one's business store, right ?

** PS. I'm not that rich to buy a 2 million house, but the house is in the area that me & my husband were browsing at, that's why we took a look too. Anyway, the main point I'm concerned about is the ADDRESS & Phone collection upon entry.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
This is typical of higher end properties. Essentially the agents want to limit the people visiting the house to those who are really looking to buy a house in that price range and can afford it - rather than people who just want to tour a 2 million dollar house for fun.