+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Nursing in Toronto

rmurray34

Oct 15, 2013
I need some advise! I have moved to Toronto, I completed my nursing degree in the United Kingdom in 2011 and have two years experience as a theatre nurse. I have applied for my registration with the CNO they replied to me today stating that my degree I completed is not approved or equivalent. I have to now complete an evaluation consisting of a short multiple choice written test and an OSCE Examination! Has this happened to anyone else what does this exam and OSCE consist off? Any advise would be great!

newtone

Champion Member
Nov 10, 2010
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
I dont know what a theatre nurse is. I imagine its a nurse that sits next to the stage and in the event the performers collapse due to exhaustion you'll be there for them, here we just call 911. Unfotunately theatre culture is not very prominent in Canada, we only watch hockey and drink beer. I am not surprised your education is not recognized here because you have to remember your education is only good to legally cross Canadian border and settle as an immigrant but not good enough to get you a job. You have to redo your degree from a Canadian university.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
newtone said:
I dont know what a theatre nurse is. I imagine its a nurse that sits next to the stage and in the event the performers collapse due to exhaustion you'll be there for them, here we just call 911.
Theatre nurses are nurses that work in the OR (operating room).

I can't help with the qualifications question.

pickednotes

Star Member
Oct 26, 2011
I apologize for the idiotic reply you got here, syclla had the best response, at least for the O.R, nurse part.