+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

need advice on best options

atcheruti

Feb 2, 2008
Hello,

I'm looking for advice on options for Canadian immigration.

I am a software professional currently in India. Last position held - Vice President for a company registered in India and the US. Previous to that I was a Software Lead Engineer in the US for 10 years. Now I am in the process of starting a company. My wife has a Ph.D. in Psychology from a large and internationally recognized University in India and a degree in Nursing. I have 17 years of experience in the software industry and my wife has over 20 years of experience in the area of Public Health and Policy.

We have several hundred thousand US dollars that we can invest but little experience as business owners.

Now the questions:
1. Can we hope to qualify for investor visas?
2. If not, how long would immigration really take on the basis of our professional qualifications and experience?
3. Would it be possible to land a job in Canada and apply for green cards after we get there? How long does it take to get GC's for Indians?

The second is really crucial because we think that we can contribute to Canada but if immigration is likely to take 5-6 years we have to consider not moving there at all.

Thanks in advance to all who can give us advice.

Regards

thaiguy

Champion Member
Apr 7, 2007
Vancouver
Hello atcheruti

A clarification: In the U.S., a permanent resident card is sometimes called a green card because of the color. In Canada, they just call it permanent residency or PR.

1. Here is the CIC link for investors and entrepreneurs. You can find all of the requirements for net worth, investment, etc. here.
http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/business/index.asp

I suggest instead that you apply as skilled workers. You should both take the assessment, to determine which applicant, as primary, would give you the most points. Here's the link.