+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Moved from Vegas..Can't find work in Canada.

mahalia

Oct 24, 2011
We just moved to southern Ontario (Cambridge)..my home town, just before Christmas...not even thinking that I would have difficulty finding a minimum wage job. Well what a surprise! (we moved from Las Vegas where we had lived for over 15 years, and there are NO jobs there, the unemployment rate is very high). I quit my job at one of the hotels there to move back to Canada. I have sent out about 50 resumes for food and beverage, since my arrival. I mistakenly stated the year I graduated from high school, (I'm 59 years old), and I think that might have something to do with it. I have since edited my resume and left it out. I can't even get a job as a waitress in a dough nut shop here. Also, I was told this was a really bad time to be job hunting...December and January of 2013. I have 3 years to retirement, and my husband is on disability. Very tough. I was doing some networking several months before we moved, but then we couldn't get connected to the WiFi where we lived, although it advertised free internet. So lost the ability to even try to secure some kind of job when we arrived. There are lots of Manufacturing jobs, and Trade jobs...so if you have a trade, you'll probably be fine...in fact, they can't find enough people to fill those types of positions.
The economy is healthy..we just came at the wrong time of year, and I am an older worker, so there is discrimination everywhere I think.

kitchloo

Star Member
Apr 18, 2010
Kitchener, Ontario
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
I feel for you. My husband is from the States and has been out of work for 8 months. He's a young, educated man who is honest and a hard worker. I just don't understand it. :(

cocosyr

Star Member
Mar 30, 2012
mahalia said: