+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Move to Ontario and pay taxes in Quebec

llty

Apr 6, 2019
Hi I am pretty new in Canada , just 4 months , so I have a question regarding taxes , I live in Montreal , but I will maybe move to Toronto working remotely from home, regarding my taxes ,I read that I need to do them in the place I stay before 31December , in this case Montreal , so will be ok if I put a Toronto address on my tax return ?

Also is necessary that I communicate right away my new address to my employee regarding tax ? could be a mess for the tax return if by any chance I forgot to communicate it as soon as I will know for sure if I move or not ?

Thank you !

k.h.p.

VIP Member
Mar 1, 2019
Canada
It won't really impact your employer but you do need to tell them as numbers change. You have to fill out the taxes according to where you lived on December 31. If that's Montreal, that is where you fill it out, even if you are living in Toronto by the time you file.

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Hi I am pretty new in Canada , just 4 months , so I have a question regarding taxes , I live in Montreal , but I will maybe move to Toronto working remotely from home, regarding my taxes ,I read that I need to do them in the place I stay before 31December , in this case Montreal , so will be ok if I put a Toronto address on my tax return ?

Also is necessary that I communicate right away my new address to my employee regarding tax ? could be a mess for the tax return if by any chance I forgot to communicate it as soon as I will know for sure if I move or not ?

Thank you !
This may create problems with your health coverage if you used your RAMQ. You haven't met the residency obligations to receive healthcare in Quebec.

llty

Apr 6, 2019