+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Maternity leave benefits - Ontario

ReenaSharma1

Jan 23, 2019
Hi All,

I am a permanent resident, lived in Ontario and I am currently pregnant. My husband is a resident in the USA. I have left my job and am currently with him in the USA. We have plans to deliver the baby in the USA only.
As per delivery dates range, I have completed 600 insured hours ( Ontario).
Am I still eligible to apply for Maternity leave as per Ontario guidelines?

Copingwithlife

VIP Member
Jul 29, 2018
Earth
Hi All,

I am a permanent resident, lived in Ontario and I am currently pregnant. My husband is a resident in the USA. I have left my job and am currently with him in the USA. We have plans to deliver the baby in the USA only.
You can . But you are aware you’ll have to sponsor your child as a PR in Canada and they won’t be eligible for OHIP for quite awhile ? So it’ll be cash payments for care.
They’ll be treated as a visitor . And you’re compliant with your RO I assume ?
BTW maternity leave is Federal, Ontario isn’t relevant in applying

YVR123

VIP Member
Jul 27, 2017
@Copingwithlife
Thanks for reply.

I could not understand "And you’re compliant with your RO I assume ? ".

Could you please guide me here?
https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/application/application-forms-guides/guide-5445-applying-permanent-resident-card-card-first-application-replacement-renewal-change-gender-identifier.html

You cannot sponsor a family member if you do not meet your RO.

On top of RO, you also need to be aware that you may need to requalify for OHIP when you return.
Check OHIP requirement. (first year as new resident, subsequence years days requires within the year )

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Hi All,