+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

married student sponsoring wife

bblm

Jun 22, 2007
Hello I am a Canadian citizen and a student studying in China. I have been with my girlfriend for over 1 year. We plan on moving to Canada in the future and will be married within 1 more year
-planning sponsoring my girlfriend as a permanent resident within 1 1/2- 2 years
-My girlfriend has no dependents.
- I am a student and have no salery

I am wondering if this will cause difficulties when we decide to move to Canada. I know that income is required when the sponsored person has dependents, but my intrpretation was that the sponsoring person did not need to have a salery if he was to sponser his wife. Also how long does the process take? I noticed that the processing times state that it takes only 1 month, but I have repeatedly heard people say that it takes over 1 year to sucessfully bring their wife back to Canada.

Thank you for your help.

MissDominica

Champion Member
May 21, 2012
Category........
Visa Office......
POS
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
(13-08-2012) 21-08-2014
Doc's Request.
AOR Received.
(28-11-2012)
File Transfer...
(22-10-2012) 10-10-2014
Med's Request
Med's Done....
(30-05-2012)
Interview........
(24-10-2013)
Passport Req..
04-11-2014
VISA ISSUED...
24-11-2014
LANDED..........
05-12-2014
There is NO minimum salary/income requirement if your are sponsoring your spouse only.

That being said, you need to convince the VO that you will have enough funds to land, live in Canada without a job (for however long it might take your spouse to find one, if she/he plans to work), and support each other.