Feb10 2017
Doc's Request.
Sched A Mar20 2017
AOR Received.
Mar14 2017
Med's Done....
May10 2017
Hi,

I appreciate if someone could tell me if there was anyone approved for a credit card, LOC or any type of credit (with bad credit) under the Newcomer's program with the 5 big banks? and without a co-signer?

My credit score is fair but I have 1 unpaid collections. I was an international student, became foreign worker, and now a PR. I was declined with Scotiabank a few months back while I was a foreign worker. I'm wondering if it matters that I am a PR now. Since then, I acquired an auto loan and a phone line under my name.

links18

Champion Member
Feb 1, 2006
Hi,

I appreciate if someone could tell me if there was anyone approved for a credit card, LOC or any type of credit (with bad credit) under the Newcomer's program with the 5 big banks? and without a co-signer?

My credit score is fair but I have 1 unpaid collections. I was an international student, became foreign worker, and now a PR. I was declined with Scotiabank a few months back while I was a foreign worker. I'm wondering if it matters that I am a PR now. Since then, I acquired an auto loan and a phone line under my name.
Your immigration status won't affect your credit score. If you have been paying on time for an auto loan for awhile, your score will eventually go up, but too many applications might make it go down. But if you have unpaid collections, that's a major detriment depending on how old it is.

Reactions: TamaraTammy

Wolverine17

VIP Member
Mar 28, 2016
Hi,

How long have you been in canada ?

Alex54321

Jul 28, 2017
USA
Category........
FAM
App. Filed.......
20-10-2017
AOR Received.
01-12-2017
How long have you been in canada ?
Can somebody shed a little light on Credit Score building process in Canada? My specific question is how does this work when the bank, which issues CC, does not ask for SIN. How Canadian person (PR or Citizen) gets identified without using SIN.?