+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

International student - Spouse TRV

milimili

Jun 8, 2014
I am an international PhD student in Canada and I'd love my husband to visit me for a semester. He is a PhD student in our home country and he can get a letter from his supervisor authorizing the leave. The trouble is that he is not employed and doesn't have bank account history. I want to provide everything for him during his stay in Canada.

Now, I am doing my PhD research in our home country and I'd love him to come to Canada with me and be there for a semester. After this, we would both go back to our home country, he will continue his studies and I will continue my research.

I am wondering what we need and how much money to prepare. I wanted to give him some money but I read in the other thread that this is bad and that I should not send him money. So, what to do? I also read that you need about $1000 per week of his stay even if I provide for everything (but then how come I need only $4000 for him for a whole year if we request spousal open work permit?)

I am so confused. Please help. What should we need to provide?

Jalex23

VIP Member
Apr 12, 2013
Calgary
Category........
Visa Office......
CPP-Ottawa
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
05-09-2013
Doc's Request.
09-04-2014
AOR Received.
06-11-2013
Med's Request
05-04-2014
Med's Done....
20-05-2014
Passport Req..
07-07-2014
VISA ISSUED...
14-07-2014
LANDED..........
06-09-2014
milimili said:
I am an international PhD student in Canada and I'd love my husband to visit me for a semester. He is a PhD student in our home country and he can get a letter from his supervisor authorizing the leave. The trouble is that he is not employed and doesn't have bank account history. I want to provide everything for him during his stay in Canada.