+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

International Student - Concern about PGWP after 1 year PG program

jp_88

Star Member
Jun 18, 2015
Hi Everyone,

I'm a student from Fanshawe college, London, ON. My course is "Software and Information System Testing" which ends by April, 2016. I have 4.6 years experience in India as System Analyst and this is my first 1 year PG program. I have posted my resume in different job portals and I have been getting calls from different agents. Some jobs sounds like a contract with possibility of extension and one or two jobs kind of permanent. But the unluckiest part of me is being a student in Canada and they're looking for a person with status as a experienced and work permit. My concerns are,

1) If I get a contract job anywhere in Ontario, will the work hours be counted for PR?? Coz, some people say, that the work hours may not be counted if it is a contract/ sub-contract job.

2) If I get a Job may be in 3 or 5 months, will I be able to extend my Visa? as I would get a year PGWP.

I have different thoughts running on my mind.. Since, I have been getting calls from different peoples which making me to think about getting a PGWP.. But some friends telling scary stories and asking me to apply for second course.

Please let me know your thoughts on this.

Thanks in advance for taking your time to reading my post and responding back!!!

Regards,
Jothi Prakash

Nas_AA

Star Member
Jul 15, 2014
Well to be completely honest, if you were able to find another one year PgD program related to you field, id say do it.

I graduated from Fanshawe as well as a 1 year PgD and I applied for my PGWP (currently waiting for a response). I couldn't find another course as this is the highest I can go with my field. I will get a 1 year PGWP which may not be enough unless I found a job the same day I get the approval.