+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Illegal Immigrant from USA

Moody

May 13, 2013
Hello Forum,
I have a issue here with my girlfriend, she has lived in Montreal with her ex for 5 years. She came to Canada from The USA as a visitor and didn't leave.
She has a 2 year old daughter(born in Canada) and is now moving in with me. I need to handle this delicately as I do not want to lose her.

She has had no way of making money, getting health care or anything. She has been living off of lies and promises for the last 5 years and I need to get this all straightened out.

I am a student myself born and raised in Toronto, Ontario, I have any money for lawyers or anything like that.. any help would be great.

I am willing to provide any addition information that will help assist in this discussion.

Thank you all for your time.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Her options are limited.

The easiest option would be for you to sponsor her for permanent residency. To qualify, you would have to be married or common law (common law means you have lived together for a minimum of one full year).

Even if she were to find an employer in Canada willing to hire her, I don't think the work permit would be approved due to her status and the significant overstay. A student visa is out for similar reasons (plus this would be a very expensive option).

If she has a skilled profession and work experience - or is able to secure a job offer in Canada, she could look into apply for PR through the Federal Skilled Worker category or Ontario Provincial Nominee class. However this won't be a fast or guaranteed option by any means.

Moody

May 13, 2013
scylla said:
Her options are limited.