+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Greetings! I'm a prospective student from Malaysia! Seeking advices

WayneCheah

Nov 27, 2011
Hello people, this would be my first post here in the forums! Hello!

I am currently a 17 year old high school student here in Malaysia. I'm of Chinese descent (sorry if that was a bit racist I didn't know if I should just tell you people my race directly to avoid any speculations yadda yadda yadda) and I will be taking the Ontario Secondary School Certificate from a very well-known college here in Malaysia, Taylor's College.

The thing is, studying and migrating to Canada has always been my dream since I was 11. I am extremely keen on studying there although I have never been there. I mean, Canada's totally the best choice for me since I speak fluent English (it's my native language, actually), with really diverse community there especially Asians and much more stable compared to the United States. Living environment there is way better than Australia too. Many Malaysian students here opt to go for Australia rather than Canada.. Haha

My question is, I've gone through the tuition fees of several universities there in Canada, such as UBC Vancouver and others. I've noticed that international students' tuition fees are of way higher than for Canadian PRs and citizens (about nearly 4 times the costs)

I would really love to try to save up money and pay my tuition fees as a PR there instead. Unfortunately, I do not have any people there related to me by blood so I can't opt for The Family Class Sponsorship way... With only an OSSD qualification, will I be able to get a PR there if I stay there for some time THEN only I pursue my undergrad studies? I wouldn't mind working temporarily there for some time before pursuing my studies although I might be much older then... :'(