+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Generalist

Tintin1984

Star Member
May 25, 2015
Hi

I’m currently based in the UK with my Canadian husband, and we’re in the process of applying for PR. I’m basically a generalist, I graduated in History and Politics, and have had various management positions mainly in education, project management and policy. For the past 3 years I’ve been working in central government in education.

If we get PR I’m planning in the long term to retrain as a psychotherapist. But in the short term I’ll need to find work in Canada. I’ve noticed on Canadian job boards, jobs seem to be very specific. My questions are

Is it possible to get an office job based on my generalist skill set?
ANd how difficult is it to work for the Canadian government?

Thanks in such advance

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Hi

I’m currently based in the UK with my Canadian husband, and we’re in the process of applying for PR. I’m basically a generalist, I graduated in History and Politics, and have had various management positions mainly in education, project management and policy. For the past 3 years I’ve been working in central government in education.

If we get PR I’m planning in the long term to retrain as a psychotherapist. But in the short term I’ll need to find work in Canada. I’ve noticed on Canadian job boards, jobs seem to be very specific. My questions are

Is it possible to get an office job based on my generalist skill set?
ANd how difficult is it to work for the Canadian government?

Thanks in such advance
If you have jobs now wouldn’t suggest you move without having secured jobs. We are about to go through a bad recession where hiring may be frozen in most places.

Tintin1984

Star Member
May 25, 2015
Hi thanks for your reply