+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Definition of 3 year residency requirement for citizenship

s_g_t

Jan 16, 2013
Hi all,

I applied for Canadian PR under the Federal Skilled Worker Program back in May. Assuming that I am successful and am admitted into Canada, my plan is to relocate to Calgary asap and start the clock ticking on the 3 year requirement before applying for citizenship. Since I will be paying taxes in Canada as a permanent resident, my question is: if Canada considers me a permanent resident, how is travel outside Canada treated as far as completing the three year residency requirement? Must I be physically present in Canada for a full three years before I can apply for a Canadian passport?

Thanks for your input.

zardoz

VIP Member
Feb 2, 2013
Canada
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
16-02-2013
VISA ISSUED...
31-07-2013
LANDED..........
09-11-2013
Yes.. you must be physically IN Canada for an absolute minimum of 1095 days within the last four years on the date that your application is submitted. Any time spent outside, whether it's vacation, study or work, does not count.

Mona_Barca

Star Member
Mar 31, 2010
Alberta
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
zardoz said:
Yes.. you must be IN Canada for an absolute minimum of 1095 days within the last four years on the date that your application is submitted. Any time spent outside, whether it's vacation, study or work, does not count.
Unless ofcourse living with abroad and working for Canadian government, or accompanying a Canadian citizen spouse working with the public service of Canada, of a province or for the Canadian armed forces.

zardoz

VIP Member
Feb 2, 2013
Canada
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
16-02-2013
VISA ISSUED...
31-07-2013
LANDED..........
09-11-2013
Mona_Barca said: